23.03.2018

Digital marketing expert Denis Konotop: the majority of betting operators appreciates affiliate marketing

Digital marketing expert Denis Konotop: the majority of betting operators appreciates affiliate marketing

Currently, betting advertising is associated with a range of difficulties and limits. However, despite this state of things, Russian industry players are learning cutting-edge marketing tools and catch up with Western fellows. The press service of Betting Trends Forum interviewed Denis Konotop who spoke at the 2017 conference and will deliver a presentation at BTF-2018. He will dwell on the industry achievements of the year as well as existing challenges and problems.

Denis Konotop is an experienced marketer whose expertise lies in the promotion of gambling and betting projects. He has published a lot of articles dedicated to online earnings, fraud combatting in IT as well as operating tools in affiliate marketing.

Interviewer: Betting Trends Forum (BTF)
Speaker: Denis Konotop (D.K.)

BTF: According to one of your last year’s interviews, Internet promotion leaves a lot to be learned for Russian bookmaker operators who now make typical mistakes of beginners. Are there any changes over a year? Did bookmakers manage to catch up or only embarked on the learning curve?

В.K.: More precisely, I was emphasizing that bookmaker operators have less experience in Internet promotion than in other industries. For instance, how can one compare e-commerce and betting? That makes no sense. Not much time has passed since the legalization of sports online betting and then only with strong restrictions and limits in promotion. The year turned out to be highly productive. For instance, nowadays, bookmaker operators can appear in contextual ads, one the most important traffic sources on the Internet.


BTF: Affiliate marketing is comparatively a new term for Russia. Are your bookmaker operators learning the ropes of this means of promotion? If so, at what speed?

D.K.: It depends on what you are comparing with. In my opinion, affiliates are outdated, and this industry is completely formed. Most bookmaker operators prioritize affiliate marketing and sometimes refer it as the only source of traffic. However, there also exist traditional operating models as bwin, for example.


BTF: Let’s talk about numbers. Are there any statistics for the affiliate marketing efficiency? How does it boost traffic or an average check? Will it be as effective for Russian bookmaker operators?

D.K.: Affiliate marketing attracts betting operators because as advertisers, they risk nothing. All the efficiency problems fall on the shoulders of a webmaster. As I have already mentioned, there are bookmaker operators whose affiliate traffic exceeds their own.


BTF: What is the politics of the foreign fellows? Do Europe-based betting operators practice affiliate marketing, is it popular?

D.K.: Certainly. Europe and the U. S. set trends as they do within other spheres of Internet advertising.


BTF: Does the today’s advertising legislation put burdens on Russian affiliate marketing? Should the community take actions to change the existing regulation?

D.K.: It’s up to you to decide whether the glass is half-full or half-empty. Sure, the legislation limits traffic sources and cuts conversion. On the other hand, there emerged a possibility to work legally with bookmaker offers knowing your source won’t be banned. No doubt, we could have better conditions but the current state of things is a significant breakthrough in the industry.


BTF: At Betting Trends Forum scheduled for April 3, you will speak about affiliate marketing for bookmaker operators. In brief, why is that presentation a must to hear?

D.K.: Like any other presentations, this one is also important. Every specialized forum is a platform for gaining new knowledge and exchange of opinions.


Hear the presentation of Denis Konotop to find out more about marketing for online bookmaker operators as well as discuss the industry problems and trends. Explore the effective ways of betting business promotion on the Internet!


Register to the conference and buy tickets online ►►►

Related news

Slotegrator brings a new partner – Betgames.tv provider
17.07.2018

Slotegrator team is open for cooperation and is always glad to work with professionals in the online gambling industry. Recently,...

Webinar from Slotegrator Academy on GDPR and Online Gambling
06.07.2018

12 July at 15:00 Moscow time, save the date to attend a topical webinar dedicated to the new GDPR legislation....

23.03.2018

Специалист по digital-маркетингу Денис Конотоп: для многих букмекеров сегодня в приоритете партнерский маркетинг

Специалист по digital-маркетингу Денис Конотоп: для многих букмекеров сегодня в приоритете партнерский маркетинг

Реклама для букмекеров сегодня связана с рядом трудностей и ограничений. Но, несмотря на это, российские участники индустрии осваивают прогрессивные инструменты маркетинга и стремительно догоняют западных коллег. О достижениях отрасли за год, а также о вызовах и проблемах индустрии пресс-служба Betting Trends Forum беседует с Денисом Конотопом, который был спикером конференции в 2017 году и вновь выступит на BTF-2018.

Денис – маркетолог с многолетним стажем, специализирующийся на продвижении гемблинг- и беттинг-проектов. Он опубликовал ряд статей о заработке в сети, борьбе с мошенничеством в IT, а также о рабочих инструментах партнёрского маркетинга.

Интервьюер: Betting Trends Forum (BTF)
Спикер: Денис Конотоп (Д.К.)

BTF: В одном из прошлогодних интервью вы говорили, что букмекеры в России только открывают для себя продвижение в Интернете и сейчас проходят через типичные «ошибки новичков». Как изменилась ситуация за год? Удалось ли букмекерам наверстать упущенное или они все еще в начале пути?

Д.К.: Если быть точнее, то я говорил, что опыт присутствия букмекеров в интернет-рекламе меньше, чем у других отраслей. Как можно сравнивать тот же е-commerce и беттинг? Это бессмысленно. Ставки на спорт только недавно стали легальны в сети, да и то с большими оговорками и препятствиями в продвижении. За год много что сделано. К примеру, теперь букмекеры, хоть и с ограничениями, но могут рекламироваться в сетях контекстной рекламы, а это один из самых главных источников трафика в Интернете.


BTF: Партнерский маркетинг – термин, сравнительно новый для России. Осваивают ли наши букмекеры этот способ продвижения, и если да, то насколько активно?

Д.К.: Смотря с чем сравнивать. Как мне кажется, мода на «партнерки» уже прошла и сейчас отрасль является уже сформированной. Для многих букмекеров партнерский маркетинг является приоритетным, а иногда и единственным источником трафика. Хотя присутствуют и классические модели работы, как пример bwin.


BTF: Поговорим о цифрах. Есть ли статистика об эффективности партнерского маркетинга? Насколько он позволяет увеличить трафик или средний чек? И будет ли он столь же эффективным для российских букмекеров?

Д.К.: Прелесть партнерского маркетинга заключается в том, что рекламодатель, в данном контексте – букмекер, ничем не рискует. Все проблемы эффективности ложатся на плечи вебмастера. Ну, и как я говорил раньше, сейчас есть букмекеры, у которых трафик от партнеров превышает их собственный.


BTF: Как обстоят дела у зарубежных коллег? Используют ли букмекеры в Европе партнерский маркетинг, насколько это распространено?

Д.К.: Безусловно. Как и во многих других нишах интернет-рекламы тренды диктует Европа с Америкой.


BTF: Затрудняет ли сегодняшнее законодательство о рекламе применение партнерского маркетинга в России? Стоит ли сообществу предпринимать что-то, чтобы изменить существующие законы?

Д.К.: Здесь каждый решает сам для себя – стакан на половину пуст или полон. Да, законодательство ограничивает источники трафика и уменьшает конверсию, но, с другой стороны, теперь есть хоть какая-то возможность работать легально с букмекерскими офферами, не опасаясь блока своего ресурса. Конечно, могло быть и лучше, но то, что уже сделано, – это огромный прорыв для индустрии.


BTF: 3 апреля вы выступаете на Betting Trends Forum, где будете рассказывать про партнерский маркетинг для букмекеров. Сформулируйте кратко, почему нельзя пропустить этот доклад?

Д.К.: Ровно по той же причине, по которой нельзя пропускать и все остальные доклады. Любой профильный форум – площадка для получения новых знаний и обмена мнениями.


Больше о маркетинге для онлайн-букмекеров, а также обсуждение проблем и разбор трендов – в докладе Дениса на Betting Trends Forum. Узнайте, как эффективно продвигать бизнес на ставках в Интернете!


Регистрация на конференцию и покупка билетов онлайн ►►►

Похожие новости

Slotegrator станет участником крупнейшей в СНГ выставки-конференции RGW
17.05.2018

7-8 июня в Москве будет проходить XII Международная игорная выставка-форум Russian Gaming Week (RGW). В крупном выставочном центре «Сокольники» соберутся...

Login Casino стал медиа-гемблинг-спонсором Russian Gaming Week
17.05.2018

7-8 июня в Москве состоится глобальное событие для всех участников игорной отрасли – XII Международная игорно-развлекательная выставка-форум Russian Gaming Week....